Book Recommendation 20 #Reads

Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman is this week’s book recommendation.

Genre: Suspense, Psychological Fiction, Literary fiction

 

Why should you pick it up?

 

Well, the book starts with a woman digging the grave of her husband. So, I guess that’s the first point that attracts you to the book. Yes, because you want to know what could have happened to had led her to that.

 

The second thing I like about Something In The Water by Catherine Steadman is that it doesn’t drag on. I also like that all the characters are flawed especially Erin and her husband Mark. Their relationship, the shocking discovery while on their honeymoon and the decisions they take which lead them to a point of no return makes for an interesting read.

 

Also, I like that Erin doesn’t want to play second fiddle to Mark. I think that sells the book to me. Throughout I’m kept guessing what is it that Mark has done and eventually I love how it all pans out.

 

Without giving further away, I say do give this book a try. The blurb is for you to decide.

 

Blurb

 

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut–for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

 

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?

 

Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .

 

Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?

 

Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .

 

Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?

 

Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

 

Link to purchase on Amazon:

 

The book is available in Paperback and as a Kindle edition. So, what are you waiting for?

 

Something in the Water

 

 

Link to Good Reads: Something In The Water

 

Look for more Books on Amazon

 

Something in the water by Catherine Steadman, a reese withersppon bookclub pick is this week's book recommendation. #book #bookclub #toberead #reading #reads #booksuggestions #thrillers #fiction

***

 

This post is a series of weekly book recommendations on the blog. Have fun reading! Please note this is not a book review, just a book recommendation.

 

This post contains affiliate links but recommendations are based on my own reading experience. If you choose to purchase this book through the link shared above, I’ll get a commission at no extra cost to you.

 

If you like historical fiction, you might like the below books.

 


 

Pic Credit | By Billion Photos via Shutterstock

3 thoughts on “Book Recommendation 20 #Reads”

  1. I have this book, and yes the blurb was the reason I picked it up. Have yet to get to it though. Thanks for the review. I’ll pick this up real soon now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.